Day 11 – “Its just hanging out – ya know, chillin”

7 Mar

As you can tell by my lack of posts, I had a rather uneventful weekend on the foot front. I’m still not in any pain when its just sitting there, it does throb randomly, but thats okay, still better than I was before. I do feel pain in two scenerios, one of which is when I try to walk on the foot (as I’m supposed to be doing…) however, it is highly unpleasant. Imagine walking around with a porcupine stuck to the bottom of your foot, a very small porcupine. So, I try to step down on my heel and the edge of my foot but I’m terrified I’m going to twist my ankle or lose my balance and accidentally put all my weight down on it… cuss words would go flying.

The second situation is irritatingly funny. It happens randomly when I’m not expecting it. Last night it happened when I was lying in bed about to fall sleep. You ever get a muscle that wants to move on its own, or a sudden urge to stretch a muscle. Well – my foot does, almost like a spasm and it will stretch out and my toes will want to stretch up and this by far hurts way more than anything else since the surgery. The bad part is that this is the pain I get most often. Its like my foot has its own little brain, and its sole purpose in life is to watch me cringe after it stretches out. Quit it foot.

Dumpster Foot

I do have a picture for today!! As we all know, I still can’t get my foot wet…. so I put it in a trash bag while taking a bath. I started looking at this earlier and just laughed at my nice little bow, and decided I would share. So there you go, I’ve posted my dumpster foot for everyone to see! I will do a little dance when I get to take a shower again.

As for the emotional side of all this, I’m feeling a little bit better this week. I was feeling pretty crummy last week when my back was hurting, and I was still getting used to the fact that I couldn’t do anything for myself. My back is now 100% better, I’m still careful to not overdo anything, because I don’t want that pain to come back. I am still incredibly frustrated and ready to get back to normal, at least I know I’m not alone in feeling this way – this blog did connect me to someone else that is going through this also! Nicola posted a (very long) comment on the “My Foot History” page – definately check it out, our stories share many similarities,i.e. taking forever to diagnose the actual problems, trying shots, staying off of it, and ultimately having the bone removed. It seems a fractured sesamoid is something hard to diagnose. What a pain!
Oh, and I did go to work today. I did really well! Didn’t fall. And everyone is extremely nice to the girl on crutches! I got more “Good Morning”s today than ever. How funny. I’m going to have arms of steel though by the time this is all over. All my coworkers welcomed me back and all of them asked how my foot was doing… and well “it’s just hanging out – ya know, chillin.”

3 Responses to “Day 11 – “Its just hanging out – ya know, chillin””

  1. assault pre workout review July 10, 2013 at 7:31 am #

    Hello to every , as I am in fact keen of reading this
    weblog’s post to be updated on a regular basis. It carries fastidious information.

  2. Lisa November 20, 2013 at 12:13 am #

    I just had a medial sesamoidectomy almost 8 weeks ago. I’m 40 years old, a runner, & like you, been going through my ordeal for over a year until I had my surgery. I just had laugh & comment about what you wrote regarding your toes having their own brain! I literally laughed out loud reading that, as I described the EXACT same thing to friends & family. I was told NOT to move my toe for ten days, and my foot was in a soft cast. Well I didn’t want to move my toe…it hurt ! But that darn thing…it had a mind of its own! It would move or tell me it was going to…and I’d have to silently argue with toe! My brain & toe battled daily. ..& I told people the toe won 50% of the time! It was the most insane thing! As soon as I was told I needed to start moving it…it no longer had its own mind…go figure!

    Anyway…so glad to hear you are doing well…cause right now…some days I feel like I may never walk normal again, let alone run, which is my ultimate goal. It’s been a LONG, difficult journey, as I’m sure you understand.

  3. Taylor July 17, 2014 at 1:33 pm #

    Kim,
    Thanks so much for blogging about this experience. Your story and a few others helped me to consider going through with the surgery, which I did last Thursday! I have officially made it a week, and man it’s hard! I am reading your blog almost every day to lift my spirits and keep me going forward. Thanks for being so positive and for giving me hope!

Leave a comment